Colour blind ltd

To inspire. To motivate. To educate.

IN LOVE WITH YOU- Erykah Badu ft Stephen Marley

And she says she needs more than a friend
That’s all I ever been yo
Well one day you gon’ overstand yo badu
And I remember the first time that we met yo
How could I forget
When you smiled
And I turned and said to you
Yo, your pure and true

These lyrics formed the beginning of one of the most beautiful, purest, authentic songs I’ve ever listened to.

It was a mundane, Sunday evening, when I discovered the beauty embedded in this harmonious tune. Upon searching You tube for a tune to add some sparkle to the monotony of my revision process, I stumbled upon the beauty that is ‘in love with you.’

I often listen to music for the sake of listening. Jazz, in particular is one of my best friends. However, whilst listening to this song, I absorbed everything that constructed it. It wasn’t solely an effortless, vicarious, listeniong experience; instead I felt as though I was within the song itself. Gliding along with the lyrics, the undertones, the guitar bass, the solos and the general collaboration.

The contrast between Erykah’s smooth, soulful, seductive, drip-drop sound and Marley’s gruff, deep, nonchalant tune actually proved very effective. As against either overpowering the other, both sounds fused together in a very creative, humble, equal way.

Erykah Badu has always been a legend of mine, but this discovery gave her more credibility in my list of all-time greats.

For a chilled, relaxing experience, I would recommend this tune. Play it at a low drone, whilst engaging in some other leisure activity.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 23, 2015 by in Music reviews and tagged , .

Navigation

colourblindltd

Ever since I can remember, I have always been fascinated by the camera's ability to illuminate persons, things and environments simply with a click. I believe the camera's main skill is to observe, focus and emanate the object of its observation.
On this note, humans are akin to cameras, simply due to the blessing we all have, that is our God-given brain. For 19 years, I have been soaking, observing and focusing on topics of interest to me, such as: politics, gender, race, sexuality, love, literature and several others. However, there is only so much soaking one can do. Now, is my time to emanate.
My vision is to be a voice for my generation by speaking authentically, and candidly on these such topics. I can only hope that you enjoy that which I have to say.

